Lovely as a Tree with Gold

Hi folks!   Lots going on this week as the Retired list comes out on Tuesday and I still have openings available for my class this weekend…

For today’s card I went back to one of my oldest (and still current as of right now!) stamp sets, Lovely as a Tree.  I created this for the Paper Craft Crew Card Sketch Challenge PCCCS140:

And here’s the card I came up with:

I used gold ink for the “Hardwood” woodgrain and my circle framelits to cut the circles. I actually glued the black circle right back onto the Old Olive then popped up the hardwood portion on dimensionals.
For the coloring, I used my acrylic block and scribbled some markers on it… I think the Melon Mambo was a bit too overpowering, as you can barely see the Pumpkin Pie or Daffodil Delight. After coloring on the block, I spritzed it with water and placed it on my Whisper White card stock. After it was dry, I stamped the trees in Black.
The “FOR YOU” came from the Itty Bitty Banners, I used a marker to color each word, and the Stamp-a-ma-jig to place them. I punched them out with the banner punch. I used the Gold Foil paper here for one of them.
A few highlights on the trees with the gold marker, white gel pen, and some gold buttons round out the card. No pun intended..

I hope you like the pop of color. I’ll have to try more of this technique with bigger pieces. I like the way it turned out, just want to try it with more colors. 🙂
Thanks for looking!
Mak

9 responses to “Lovely as a Tree with Gold

  1. Wow, love the woodpanel behind the Lovely as a tree image. Makes those colours pop. Thanks for joining us at the Paper Craft Crew. Carolyn xx

    Like

  2. So gorgeous Mak, Love your background and woodgrain panel front – and Lovely as a Tree must be now the longest running stamp of all time with good reason! Thanks for joining us at The Paper Craft Crew this week 🙂

    Like

  3. Love this card. I really like your color combination choices. I think your acrylic block color choices are perfect as well. It all combines to make an awesome card!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Retiring List Posted and New Club Info | StampinMak

  5. Pingback: Never Too Much Happy Watercolor | StampinMak

  6. Pingback: PCCCS#140 - Featured Artisans

Leave a comment