Blog Hop Questions and FabFri56

To start this week off, I’ve been asked to participate in a blog hop! I was excited with the idea since I’ve never done one. I was asked by my friend (and stamping family mom) Linda Bauwin to join in.

For today’s post I thought I would share another sample from the new Occasions Catalog that starts in January. I paired that up with the Fab Friday 56 Color Challenge, which uses colors right from the Watercolor Winter Simply Created Kit (which is still on the clearance rack right now).

Here is the color inspiration:

And…. Here is my new card:

Once again I found a set that I absolutely wanted as soon as I saw it – it’s a photopolymer set called “Sheltering Tree”. I like most tree stamps in general, but when I saw that this one had the tree trunk and branches separate from the leaves??? How cool!!! The possibilities are endless, as the pictures in the catalog display a tree for every season! <doing a little happy dance in my head>
It even comes with accessories, like a swing, a rake, a bicycle, grass, and leaves that double as flowers! About those flowers… I’m not sure what it is about red, but keep an eye out for red ink on photopolymer stamps. 🙂  It’s definitely not like dying your hair red which continues to wash out for days (or so I’ve been told)… Nope, these little buggers get red ink on them for 30 seconds, and they are red for life (unless you are very diligent in scrubbing them right after you use them, which I am not). No harm to the stamp, just a little pinkish still after cleaning.

For this card I stamped the tree in the Crumb Cake, then used the leaves once in Old Olive, then again in Coastal Cabana (stamped off to make lighter) just a bit offset from the Old Olive. I then took the bonus leaves stamp and used Bermuda Bay to add a few extras in the tree. Kinda makes me want it to be going into spring, not more winter!
The grass is inked once, then stamped, then stamped again, then again…. to get the multiple tones. Do that a few times. The swing actually fits better on the other side of the tree, but that’s where I wanted my sentiment.. so I only inked up part of the chain/rope on one side and angled it the other way! I don’t even think you can tell.
I cut out the sentiment since I didn’t want it to cover too much of the background. Pop up the sentiment and the Bermuda Bay layer on some dimensionals and you are all done!
Looking back, I think next time I’ll try making the grass a field of flowers.. ohhh that should be pretty. I’ll save that for another day!

For the blog hop, I was asked to answer the following questions, and then nominate someone to continue the blog hop – be sure to go to the bottom to check out Anne Marie’s Blog!

What are you working on?
I’m not sure I can narrow this down… but, since all the craft fairs for the season are done, I’ll be working on getting my next set of classes lined up for after the new year. With the new Occasions and Sale-a-Bration Catalogs right around the corner I want to make sure everyone has a chance to come and see how cool the new stuff is. I’ll be working on getting lots of new samples made to keep posting up here on my blog and coming up with more ideas for the classes, too!

How does your work differ from others in your genre?
Mine is, well, mine! Kidding aside, I like to make things simple. It may look complicated, but I try to keep the steps easy. There may be 50 steps – but they are all easy steps! I also like to think that I can teach anyone how to make what I make, and that’s what I aim for. 

Why do you create what you do?
Because it’s fun. Really. If it wasn’t, I wouldn’t still be doing this in my 12th year as a demonstrator. Some times have been a little more active than others, but it’s still fun. I love being able to create something, share it with someone and having them go “oooooh, aaaahhhh!”  It’s a pretty cool thing. And I like being able to help other folks to do the same thing.

How does your creative process work?
I wish there was a good answer for this. It’s partly starting with an inspiration from others (like the challenges I join online) and partly just going with my gut. I’d like to say it just happens, but that’s not really a good explanation. 🙂  Having said that, that is how a lot of my cards start off… I just get an idea that pops up once I see the stamp set, or challenge, or some other form of inspiration. Other times I have to dig a little.. play around with different layouts, different colors… it varies from day to day. It’s kind of like the weather here. One day it’s shorts weather, the next day you are shoveling snow.

My nomination for the next stop on the blog hop is:
Anne Marie Hammerhofer: Anne Marie has just recently become a member of my stamping family! We’ve been stamping together for much longer, and now can share all the fun of Stampin’ Up! together, too! She has just started up a blog to get things rolling and I would love for you to stop on over and say hi!

Have a great week, and stop back soon for more new samples!
Mak

6 responses to “Blog Hop Questions and FabFri56

  1. Pingback: Mojo Monday Lumberjack | StampinMak

  2. Great spring card with our challenge colors! The Bermuda Bay, Coastal Cabana and Old Olive all work wonderfully together for the leaves on the tree! I immediately wanted this set too when I saw it! Thanks for sharing at Fab Friday!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Fancy Blue Lotus Blossom – PP225 | StampinMak

Leave a comment