Blogging Friends Blog Hop – Baby It’s Cold Outside

Welcome to this month’s “Blogging Friends Blog Hop!”

Happy New Year folks!  It’s the first of the month, and time for another Blogging Friends Blog Hop!  With it being the new year, you will also notice a few new updates. We have new logos as well as some never before used themes coming up!  Fun times ahead for everyone. 🙂

This month’s theme makes me think of a chilly wintery night scene. That’s exactly what I decided to create! I combined a little bit of the new with the old and came up with this:

I used the Hometown Greeting thinlits for the rows of buildings, and the Star of Light stamp set for the swirly stars in the sky. I purposely left off the sentiment because I didn’t want it to take away from the scene. I made sure to leave some of the edges hang off the sides to make it a bit more 3-D. Here are the houses a bit closer, since it’s hard to see the black-on-black in the picture straight forward:

I didn’t want all the openings in the buildings ‘lit up’, just the windows, so I used some Daffodil Delight paper behind those, then used some more Black for the rest. It really makes the windows stand out even more. I added Wink of Stella to make them glisten along with the swirly sky.

The bright blue night sky is made with the new Brushos, which will be available on January 3rd!  I used the Whisper White card stock, and after I heat embossed the swirls in white, I wet the paper and quickly sprinkled some Brusho on it. The Whisper White paper won’t pool up the water like watercolor paper, so I then gave it a spritz of water and used an Aqua Painter to go back and forth to blend it in a bit. This is a completely different look from the watercolor paper, so you will want to play around with it yourself and see the neat combinations possible.

Here is the sky up close, I really love how it turned out:

It’s even more sparklie in real life! I hope you like it and I also hope everyone is staying warm this New Year’s Day!  It’s extremely cold where I am, and it looks like it will be for quite a while! So, get some hot chocolate, a warm blanket, and take a peek at the rest of wonderful hop!
Thanks for stopping by!
Mak


In case you’ve never ‘done’ a blog hop before, it’s really easy!
Click on the “Next” image below, and you’ll be taken directly to Tammy’s post, the next blog in the hop. Keep clicking on that image at the bottom of each blog post, and you’ll hop through all of the participating blogs, back to where you started!  If you’d prefer to hop about at your leisure, you can click on the individual links for each blog. Happy Hopping!

Participating Blogging Friends, in order of appearance:
Crystal Komara
Anna Conetta Masciovecchio
Libby Fens
Mary Blocher
Jessica Mink
Leanne Johnson
Michelle Clark
Mary Ann Rossiter (StampinMak) – You are here!
Tammy Gill

6 responses to “Blogging Friends Blog Hop – Baby It’s Cold Outside

  1. Thanks for sharing a great idea for Brusho.

    Like

  2. Great card, Mary Anne — I love how the sky came out!

    Like

  3. Beautiful card Mary Ann! I haven’t purchased the Brusho yet, so I love seeing samples of it being used.

    Like

  4. Great job, Mary Ann! You nailed the wintery night scene! And thanks for sharing you “secret” on how you created the sky with Brusho! Happy New Year! XO, Crystal

    Like

  5. Beautiful card, Mary Ann! I really love how it turned out! I can’t wait to get my hands on the Brusho. Thanks so much for sharing how you created the background. I love all of the detail you put into your card from top to bottom. Happy New year!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Global Stamping Friends Hop – 2018 SAB and Occasions | StampinMak

Leave a comment