Hooray It’s Your Day! in Blue

Eeek eeek eeeek. Time flies when you are busy with non-stamping things, then you realize it’s been WAY too long since the last post!!! Between work stuff and weather stuff and everything else in the mix… yikes!!!
So, I’m just going to jump right back in here and get right back to it!!

I have a few items for you today – so I’ll put them in separate posts…
I have a nifty card for almost any occasion…  I have some Class Schedules to share with you, and then of course, don’t forget Sale-A-Bration… there are new items added to the freebie list!!!

First I’ll share the card I have for you today, which was inspired by two challenges this time.   The first is a sketch from Pals Paper Arts PPA241, and the second is a “Teenager” theme from the SU Only Challenges SUO117.

Here is the sketch:

And here is my card:

I like that it can be used for multiple occasions.  I used the Hooray It’s Your Day stamp set as the main image, with the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set helping me out in the background.
The nifty stars came from some of the Sale-A-Bration DSP: Irresistibly Yours. I used the sponge daubers to add Sahara Sand and Night of Navy ink to it, then gave it a quick swipe with a paper towel to make the stars white again. To keep with the stars theme I stamped the little star from the Hooray It’s  Your Day set in Silver ink and added it to the balloons I cut out. They match perfectly!!
The sentiment in the middle is stamped on vellum with the Navy ink, then immediately covered with clear embossing powder.. heat it up with your heat tool, and voila!  Embossed words in navy!  I cut it out with one of my circle punches, and added some adhesive behind the balloons so you can’t see it.
The balloons and the square of stars are popped up on Dimensionals.
To get the sentiment on the bottom in 3 different faded colors, I just kept stamping the words without reinking! You may want to practice that on scrap paper first to get the technique just right. 🙂

Hope you like the card, and check back for my class info and SAB news!!
Have a great day!
Mak

12 responses to “Hooray It’s Your Day! in Blue

  1. Love, Love, Love this card! May have to CASE for my next Stamp camp! Hope you are staying warm!

    Like

    • thanks!! we’re trying to stay warm.. it’s actually supposed to get a little warmer today, enough to turn the snow into freezing rain to finally rain! then, of course it will go right back to freezing in another day….at least I have my stamps to keep me occupied!! 🙂

      Like

  2. Love the sentiment. This would be perfect for a male or female birthday. Well done and thanks for playing along with us this week at Pals Paper Arts.

    Like

  3. Mary Ann I love your card. I like the layers, but I especially like the two toned star background. Awesome! Thanks for playing with Pals Paper Arts!

    Like

  4. What a wonderful card!! Love the use of the embossing with the vellum along with your background and festive balloons! The sentiment is perfect for any teen these days- lol!! Thanks for playing along with us at SUO Challenges 🙂

    Like

  5. Great card, and the little balloons look great! So glad you joined in the challenge this week!

    Like

  6. VERY cute card! Love the greeting on vellum with the stars behind! Thanks for playing along with the Teen Card challenge this time on SUO Challenges!

    Like

Leave a comment