Merry Patterns for PCC259

Hi folks!  As I’m going through all the projects I want to share with you, I came across the Paper Craft Crew’s Inspiration Challenge #259. I was completely drawn to the bright colors, and thought… I can use that!!  So here is the inspirational picture:

I was in the process of getting all the Merry Patterns cards lined up, and decided I could use the colors in the Inspiration picture to make a holiday card in a not-so-traditional fashion. Here is what I came up with:

www.stampinmak.com

I love how fun and festive it turned out!  I used the Merry Patterns set (the Hostess special) with some sponge daubers to get the colored letters. I was so excited to finally use the Brightly Lit Christmas set with matching Christmas Lamppost Thinlits for the post and presents. For the background snowflakes I pulled out my go-to set of Christmas Pines – I love how they are just the right size for backgrounds!

I’m not sure what the actual colors in the Inspiration picture are, but I used Real Red, Berry Burst, Crushed Curry and Marina Mist for my card. I used my Aqua Painter with a little Smokey Slate for the shadow on the ground. For the sign, I cut out a little strip of one of the darker designs in the Wood Textures Designer Series Paper. I sponged a bit of Chocolate Chip and Crumb Cake around the edge of the sign to blend it to the wood. I think it turned out great, and I’ll have to try this with the signs that come in the stamp set!

The last bit is some bling, because you can’t have sparklie goodness without rhinestones and Wink of Stella. It’s on the presents, and the swirl of the sign. Just be careful when squeezing your Wink of Stella pen… mine was getting towards the end, so I did squeeze it…. and it promptly told me it was NOT empty. All over the swirl. hmph.  So, I wiped some off, and kept going!  LOL. I still think it turned out fine, just a bit extra shiny in some spots. 🙂 Here are the presents all shiny:

www.stampinmak.com

I hope you liked this take on a holiday card, and don’t forget you can earn the Merry Patterns set for free, just contact me if you have questions!
Happy Stamping!
Mak

3 responses to “Merry Patterns for PCC259

  1. Love this card. When is your next card party?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Tis the Season | StampinMak

Leave a comment