Cherry Cobbler Wondrous Wreath – SIP1

Howdy!   It’s almost the weekend and I have lots of stamping planned!  If you still want to come to my class on Saturday, contact me ASAP as I still have some room!

For today, I wanted to share a card I made for a new Challenge site I found by some of the same folks on other sites I visit: “Stamp Ink Paper.”
I’m looking forward to what they will have, and to start it off with the first one, it’s a Card Maker’s Choice!  YAY!  That means it can be anything!
SIP-Any-Challenge-1-791x1024
So, I first picked my favorite stamp set… Lovely as a Tree.. it’s my oldest stamp set, and I love it…. but I just used it for a previous card!  So, then I decided to go to my favorite color… Cherry Cobbler.  This isn’t to say it’s my favorite color in the world (I have lots of colors I adore…),  but it is one of my favorite Stampin’ Up! colors 🙂

Now before anyone freaks out about what I am about to say.. just remember.. it’s just a card!!!  A Christmas card!  HA!  I know, I know… you are thinking I’m nuts.. Christmas is too far away.. but ya know what?  Doesn’t matter. 🙂  I liked the card, so I’m sharing it. Besides, if I start now, I may have my cards done in time, maybe.

For this one, I used the Wondrous Wreath (with coordinating framelit) and White Christmas stamp sets. The wreath is stamped in Smokey Slate, then Versamark with Silver embossing powder for the accent leaves. I left off the little berry stamp because I wanted to make my own flowers. I used both the Itty Bitty Punch Pack flower punch and the Tree Builder combined to make a layered flower. I sponged some Cherry Cobbler on the card stock to make it darker, then punched the larger flower from that. It gives it a two-tone effect.
Speaking of sponging, check out the background… BRICKS! I am so excited over this one.. it’s the new Brick Wall embossing folder. And, it’s 6 x 6, so you can have the design go either direction on your card! YAY!  To give the bricks some more dimension, I took a sponge dauber and ran some Cherry Cobbler over the raised bricks, so the ‘grout’ stayed lighter, and the bricks got some darker highlights. I think this turned out pretty cool:

I want to point out the ribbon on the card. It’s the white Stitched Satin, and this time I used the Cherry Cobbler Marker to color it.. but just a little bit, making stripes, then I made the bow from that. I did that after I added the little ribbon tag at the end of the sentiment, and didn’t want to re-do it.. so that stayed white instead of matching the bow. 🙂  Behind the sentiment is also the Silver Foil Paper. Shiny stuff, and so easy to use.

I hope you like it, and now you may go back to not thinking about Christmas just yet.  🙂
Mak

2 responses to “Cherry Cobbler Wondrous Wreath – SIP1

  1. Beautiful! I’m loving the Cherry Cobbler embossed with that Brick Wall embossing folder! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment