Pastel Birthday Bash for PPA243

Before we get to my card… I have to point this out… Did everyone see this?!?

SUO Challenge 117: Top 3 for Teen Card

SQUEEE!!  I made the top 3!!   ok, back to today’s card….

I was woefully behind on some birthday cards, so here is one I made to catch up. I intended on doing the now popular “bokeh” technique, and wanted to check it out by using stamps instead of the white circles.  I used this week’s Pals Paper Arts PPA243 Color Challenge as the inspiration:

I realized though that such light colors being used with the stamps didn’t quite give me what I was expecting (trying to stamp off with light colors makes it too light to see the second or third stamped image), but still turned out completely cool!!
Here is what I came up with:


I decided to use the giant image from Birthday Bash, which was a gift from Stampin’ Up! <YAY for Prize Patrols and Giveaways!>  It was nice to have one big dark image against the lighter background that I created.  The dots came from the Best Day Ever SAB stamp set. I stamped each color multiple times without reinking each time. It gives some of them the faded out look. It almost looks like it could be it’s own DSP pattern!!

I stamped cut out each of the balloons, used dimensionals, and added some of our Silver Baker’s Twine and rhinestones for a little glitz. I really like how this one turned out!

I did go back and try a few more cards using the white ink bokeh technique, so check back for those this weekend with a quick rundown on how to do that!

Don’t forget Sale-A-Bration ends this month, and supplies are while they last! Paper Pumpkin is also on sale during this time, so contact me if you have any questions ASAP! 

Hope you enjoy your day!
Mak

9 responses to “Pastel Birthday Bash for PPA243

  1. Very pretty, Mary Ann! I love the background you created. It really does look like it could be a new DSP pattern! Thanks for playing at Pals Paper Arts!

    Like

  2. This is fabulous! I love the background you created.

    Like

  3. Lovely card! I like the way you used a black mat behind your “DSP”. It really helps draw my eye toward the sentiment. Thanks for playing with PPA this week!

    Like

  4. Mary Ann, what is there not to love about your card!!?? I think it so cute and soft. You aced it with this week’s Pals Paper Arts Challenge. Thanks for joining us.

    Like

  5. Mary Ann, This is a super-sweet way to showcase this stamp set. Thanks for playing along with this week’s PPA color challenge!

    Like

Leave a comment