FM190 Hey Valentine Fishies

It’s hard to believe it’s almost Christmas!! Chances are if you haven’t made your Christmas cards by now, you probably won’t get them out in the next day or so..  So… I’ve decided to go back to what I said in a previous post (click here to see it) where I mentioned Valentine’s Day is coming up faster than you think. Especially now that it’s just about Christmas Eve!  We can get back to more winter holiday cards later, but for today, I want to share this quick, simple and cute card I created for The Friday Mashup FM190 this week. It’s combining both the sketch, and creating a two-layer card with a grungy background element.  Here is the sketch for inspiration:

I seem to be stuck in a blue phase (but I’m ok with that…) and here’s my card:

This one was definitely easy to do, and turned out so cool. I usually don’t keep my cards to two layers unless specifically needed (such as this challenge). So to give it more depth, I used several colors on the grungy part and popped the image up on dimensionals.
The base is Bermuda Bay, and I used Bermuda Bay, Coastal Cabana and Gold Metallic inks on the background. The stamp was from the “Sheltering Tree” set. Coastal Cabana was the big set of leaves, then the other two colors were the highlights with the smaller leaf/flower top stamp.
The main image is also one of the new sets coming out in the new Occasions Catalog called “Hey, Valentine”. I stamped this in Memento Ink, and colored it with various Blendabilities Markers. Those things are completely awesome. The more I use them, the more I like them.
The finishing touches on this card include a strip of Watercolor Wonder Washi Tape (that one comes in metallic gold designs), and a bit of Crystal Effects on the gold grungy bubbles, the heart, the spots on the weird green spotted fish (the result of combining Old Olive and Daffodil Delight markers…) and of course the blue bubbles. I do love how the gold spots fit right in with the rest of the theme of the card.

I hope everyone enjoys the fishies!
Mak

3 responses to “FM190 Hey Valentine Fishies

  1. What a fun Valentine’s Day card, Mak! So cute with the perfect sentiment! Thanks for playing with us at the Friday Mashup.
    Sara

    Like

  2. Great minds think alike! I didn’t notice that you used this set for the Friday Mashup until I just posted my card. I love the colors you used!

    Like

Leave a comment