Mint Macaron Lovely as a Tree

How about that. I have a whole day to spare in getting my post up for this week’s Paper Craft Crew Sketch PCCCS147.  I missed it by a matter of a minute last week, so I wasn’t going to do that again! 🙂
Here’s this week’s sketch:

PCCCS147

Lots of framing on this one. When I do that I like to use a lighter color with a much darker neutral. In this case, I used Mint Macaron (an In-color) and Basic Black.  I love the contrast, and by adding a white layer with it, it makes it even more focused on the main image:

I used a few different elements here. Since I wanted a subtle background, I used the Stylish Stripes embossing folder, inked it up then pressed my paper right on it. That gives the striped background. Try it with both sides of your folders to see which you like better, as they are very different. It’s like you have two additional background stamps to use!
The trees are from Lovely as a Tree (my oldest stamp set!), and the sentiment is from Sprinkles of Life.  I stamped the trees multiple times in Mint Macaron on the same colored card stock. Some are darker, some lighter. I was going for the forest effect, I think. (closer ones are darker, farther ones are lighter…  🙂 humor me and just go with it…)
I then stamped one on vellum with Mint Macaron ink and added clear embossing powder (and heated) for the shine. The sentiment is stamped in Versamark and uses Black EP. To adhere the vellum I ran some liquid glue down the tree trunks and a few branches. This way whatever shows through highlights the trees.
The little hearts are from the Owl Builder punch.. who knew!! I doubled them up with black and then added Crystal Effects.  I think they resemble the epoxy stickers!

I also took a second picture since I realized the trees look different through the vellum depending on what angle you look at the card. I didn’t want you to miss out on that!  You can see more trees in this angle, and the sentiment looks hollow!  Trust me, it’s not.. It’s just the angle of the camera and light reflection trying to show more trees.

Here’s a tip…  remember that Crystal Effects takes a long time to dry… after taking a picture of the shiny card, don’t put your phone down on top of the not-quite-dry-yet Crystal Effects. It didn’t give the effect I was going for and I had to clean off my phone. :/  At least the pic was good first!

I hope everyone enjoys this, as I said… I think this is becoming my new favorite color… I’ll try not to do *every* card in it though!
Thanks for  looking!
Mak

6 responses to “Mint Macaron Lovely as a Tree

  1. M… your card is fabulous… I think we’ve all done something we shouldn’t have when it comes to crystal effects lol.. thanks so much for joining us this week at Paper Craft Crew 🙂 Eva

    Like

  2. Wow Mak, what a simply serene and beautiful card you have created for our challenge. Mint Macaron and the Lovely as a Tree set pair really well. Thanks for joining us at the Paper Craft Crew this week. Crystal

    Like

  3. Very nice! You are such an artist! I love all the creative things you do and then put them together. It sure makes for an interesting art piece! TFS!

    Like

Leave a Reply

