Sprinkles of Life Cupcake and Smoke

Howdy everyone!   I have a fun card to share with you today, but before we get to that, let me give you my public service announcement of the day.  No, my *cupcake* is not smoking…   However…  Do not throw away hot oil soaked paper towels in your garbage can. Especially in your kitchen. Here is why:

So, in an effort to re-season a cast iron pan… oil is smeared over the pan, and it’s heated up (in our grill in this case). Repeat. Lots of times. But, here’s the catch – you need to get rid of those paper towels used to smear the oil… well, turns out if you throw then in your garbage, then cover it up… it starts to burn. sigh. Good thing we caught it in plenty of time, and all was well. Just a little stinky-ness left over that some open windows cleared right up. (btw – that was not me that did that, but I needed to share anyway).  Too bad I was not quick enough with the camera, otherwise you would have seen the billowing smoke!!  I guess I was more focused on making it stop first!  Now, back to less potentially dramatically damaging things, like my card for the day! 🙂

I made this one for the Paper Craft Crew Card Sketch PCCCS145:

PCCCS145

So many options to choose from here, so I went with something completely from the new catalog.. nothing retiring in this card! Here it is:

I used the Sprinkles of Life stamp set and coordinating Tree Builder punch.  I cut out the bottom of the cupcake by itself. It’s got the stripes from the Cherry on Top DSP Paper Stack, and more stripes and dashes from the coordinating Cherry on Top Washi tape. I put the washi tape on white paper first since I didn’t want the other colors showing through.
For the cupcake top I stamped it in Watermelon Wonder, then used a blender pen to soften the edges and give it some shadow. The sprinkles were colored with the In-Color markers and then highlighted with some Crystal Effects for shine. I also colored the sentiment with markers so I could have multi-colored words. To give more shadow under the cupcake, I used a sponge dauber to add Tip Top Taupe under the cupcake (which is on dimensionals).
The sentiment is on the Large Oval sized punch, and bordered with the Scallop Oval punch. The Watermelon Wonder circle is made with the Circle framelits.
The little flowers are also in the stamp set, and I punched those (and the leaves) out, too.
Note:  I was sooo excited to punch out the flowers because I forgot that the flower was included in the Tree Builder punch, and was preparing to cut them out by hand!! That’s some craziness there. …  I added some rhinestones and then called it a card!

I hope you like it, and remember to keep a fire extinguisher handy. 🙂
Mak

4 responses to “Sprinkles of Life Cupcake and Smoke

  1. Hi Mary Ann, what a great card! I love that new stamp set and you’ve certainly combined it beautifully with the new In-Colors, Washi Tape, and Designer Paper. I love the way you’ve layered everything so effectively with Dimensionals as well. Thanks so much for joining us this week for the Paper Craft Crew Challenge.

    Like

  2. WOW So glad your smoking fire was not any worse. Love your card

    Like

  3. Oh my gosh… Mary Ann! I’m glad everything was OK and you caught the fire right away. Love the card especially the way you did the circle element in the background. I just love the Sprinkles of Life Stamp set. Thanks for playing along and stay safe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

