Wisteria Wonder Butterflies

Today’s card is my take on a monochromatic style. I used the sketch from the Paper Craft Crew Card Sketch Challenge #141 for the layout, and immediately thought I had an amazing idea for this. Well, it turns out my original not-so amazing idea didn’t work (that happens occasionally), so I came up with something else.. using one of my favorites, the butterflies!

Side Note:  My not so amazing idea was to color and stamp individual portions of a multi-image stamp with a black marker, then color them in on the paper with other markers… well, the black marker mixed with a yellow marker did not come out yellow. More like a dirty yucky blah yellow-ish color. So, that got scrapped!

Here’s the sketch for this week:

PCCCS141

Here’s my rotated take on this design:

I decided to use Wisteria Wonder for this, because I knew I wanted to make silver butterflies… but not completely silver… so, the Wisteria Wonder card stock and the silver ink really worked out nicely together. I stamped the butterflies from the Butterfly Basics set using silver and used the coordinating framelit (this bundle is on sale btw!) to cut them out. I embossed them with clear embossing powder, then sponged some Elegant Eggplant over them to make them a little darker.

I wanted something subtle in the background, so I used the Hexagon Hive thinlit in the same color as the base. I added vellum to the side and that made the rhinestones pop out a little more. A few strips of the 1/8″ Silver ribbon line the vellum edge behind the butterflies.

The sentiment is from Lovely Amazing You, one of the newer photopolymer stamps. It’s stamped in Elegant Eggplant and then cut out by hand.

I hope you like it!
Mak

2 responses to “Wisteria Wonder Butterflies

  1. Hi Mary Ann… I absolutely love this card with the monochromatic color, the embossing on the butterflies and the fact that you turned the sketch. Gorgeous. Also, I love the background with the Hexagon Hive. Look for your card to be included in this weeks Featured Artisan blog post! Thanks again for playing along with the Paper Craft Crew!

    Like

Leave a Reply

