What Makes You Happy

That’s not the question for today, rather it’s part of the stamp set I used,
Hello Life.   I love this set and was so glad I found a chance to use the sentiment. It’s in the Occasions Catalog when you’re looking for it.

Here’s today’s inspiration from the Pals Paper Arts PPA247 Color Challenge:

Lots of purples… so I figured I’d mix them all together! I tried my hand at the bokeh technique again and came up with this:

I love the way this turned out. It’s kinda sad that the vellum covers up some of the pretty swirly purpley goodness (made with stamping sponges in all three colors), but I like that the sentiment sticks out more by doing that.
I used the Blackberry Bliss for the main card stock, which matches the 3/8 Stitched Ribbon.  The sentiment was stamped in Perfect Plum, then stamped again over it in Elegant Eggplant. I was just trying to make it darker, and up close you can actually see the two colors. It’s almost speckled on the thicker part of the words. Neat.
While it was still wet (which is pretty long on vellum), I sprinkled on some clear embossing powder and heat set it. It’s now shiny and purple.
A few strategically placed cut up dimensionals behind the letters adhere the vellum to the paper behind it. Sneaky. 🙂

As for the bow…  I am no expert a bow tying, but whenever I make cards in my classes with bows – I end up tying them all… so I’m always looking for a good way to make them. You can find lots and lots of instructional pictures online, and that’s how I learned the ‘tie it around a fork’ method. I was happy with my result, although it took a few tries to get it right. Good thing you can just untie it and start over!

Enjoy your day!
Mak

3 responses to “What Makes You Happy

  1. Love your background, Mak! I have to try it. Gorgeous! Thanks for playing Pals Paper Arts!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Never Too Much Happy Watercolor | StampinMak

Leave a Reply

