Spring Color Sheltering Tree

Good day everyone!!    For today I’m going back to one of my favorite things… Trees. I am fascinated by trees, especially when the leaves are multicolored.. Fall colors are my favorite… But guess what, you can get the same effect with Spring colors!

Today’s card is inspired by two challenges.  One is the Fab Friday 61 Color Challenge, which you can see here:Fab Fri Logos-069
The other is the Paper Craft Crew Card Sketch PCCCS138, shown here:
PCCCS105-159-012-300x232

I decided to combine them to come up with this springtime delight. 🙂


It’s pretty much right out of the “soft” Subtles color family. I used the “Sheltering Tree” stamps from the Occasions Catalog, and the sentiment comes from one of the Project Life stamp sets, “Remember This”.  I think it fit perfectly.

For the leaves, I inked it up with So Saffron first, then added on some of the Pear Pizzazz with a sponge dauber.  I added the Pink Pirouette afterwards to the paper with the little leaves stamp. The tree is Crumb Cake.  Once again, I accidentally attempted to make my own DSP by using the giant tree leaves stamp (the one I used on the tree itself). I stamped it on white with the Soft Sky and just cut a strip of it to use on the left.
I was also pretty excited because I finally have a flower punch to use. The Boho Blossoms punch works great to get multiple size flowers all at one. I just layered a few on top of each other and added bling. <yay for bling and rhinestones>

One thing that may be hard to tell here is the So Saffron frame is actually on top of the tree… I cut it out myself using the Square framelits since I didn’t have the On Film Framelits set – which would have made that a lot easier!

Fun tidbit… I actually had to upload this card twice.. I was just about to save it, and the kiddo looks at it and says… ‘I would just change one thing…’ then he proceeds to pick at the blue flower leaf that accidentally was touching the letter “a” in the sentiment. SIGH…. ok, yeah, yeah. So, move the petal, retake the shot, re-upload… maybe that’s why I don’t let him critique all my work before I post it. 🙂    Have a good day!
Mak

7 responses to “Spring Color Sheltering Tree

  1. Mary – what a beautiful project! I love your use of these colors with this image. Lovely! Thanks for playing along with our color challenge at FabFriday.

    Like

  2. Mary – gorgeous card! I love this stamp set and how you used the sketch to really highlight the tree. The colors are gorgeous! Thanks for playing along with the Paper Craft Crew! Congratulations on being a featured artisan this week for Card Sketch 137

    Like

  3. The multi-colored leaves look fantastic! I will be giving that technique a try for sure! Thanks for sharing at Fab Friday!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Retired Stamp Class Scheduled | StampinMak

Leave a Reply

